Governor’s Chairs

The Governor’s Chairs program provides joint appointments at the University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory for some of the nation’s top scientists, transforming such fields as clean manufacturing, energy production, environmental systems and computing technologies.

Funded by the state of Tennessee and ORNL, the program attracts top researchers to broaden and enhance the unique research partnership that exists among UT, the state’s preeminent public university system, and ORNL, the nation’s largest multiprogram laboratory.

The Governor’s Chair program is managed by the UT-Oak Ridge Innovation Institute (UT-ORII) in coordination with ORNL and UT. To accelerate collaborative research between UT and ORNL, UT-ORII is expanding its prestigious Governor’s Chairs program. There are currently 13 Governor’s Chairs, 11 located at UT Knoxville and two at UT Health Science Center.

Advanced and Nanostructured Materials
Appointed 2020

Advanced Manufacturing
Appointed 2013

Biomedical Informatics
Appointed 2013

Environmental Biotechnology
Appointed 2011

Power Grids
Appointed 2009

Appointed 2014

Molecular Biophysics
Appointed 2006

Polymer Science
Appointed 2009

Advanced Composites Manufacturing
Appointed 2015

Computational Genomics
Appointed 2009

Computational Nuclear Engineering
Appointed 2010

Electrical Energy Conversion and Storage
Appointed 2009

Nuclear Materials
Appointed 2013